The Peterborough Lakers win the Classic Cup in 32nd Laker Classic Tournament

  • Lakers-2017LakerClassic-NoviceChampions
  • lakersclassic

(Peterborough, ON) — Thanks to a strong showing from all local teams, the Peterborough Minor Lacrosse Association, host club of the 32nd Annual StringKing Laker Classic tournament, were winners of the “Classic Cup”.  Each year this trophy is awarded to the organization with the most combined wins over the course of all games in the Laker Classic tournament.

The tournament wrapped up on Sunday afternoon at the Peterborough Memorial Centre with three Peterborough teams playing for championship titles in the Tyke, Novice and Midget Divisions, and all three Lakers teams came out victorious with two of the teams pleasing their home town fans by going undefeated throughout the entire tournament.

Peterborough’s Tyke 1 squad defeated Mimico in their semi-final to face the St. Catherines Athletics in the final where they completed the tournament undefeated with a 7-4 victory to claim the Tyke division title.

The Novice Lakers defeated Whitby 6-2 in the morning semi-final to advance to their division championship game versus Mimico where they completed their weekend with a dominating 8-1 victory and championship title.

The Peewee division final saw Oshawa defeat Nepean to win that championship title.

Peterborough’s Bantam squad faced Brampton in the morning semi-final but fell short in a spirited battle by a final score of 6-5.  Nepean later defeated Brampton for the championship.

The also undefeated Midget Lakers got by Windsor in the morning semi-final to advance to the championship game versus Nepean.  In a close match that went down to the wire, Peterborough’s Owen Hiltz notched three goals to lift the Lakers to a 4-3 victory and remain undefeated throughout the weekend for the championship title.